Rehab


Rehabilitation is a word we use for people who have either become addicted to a substance and stopped using it or someone who has broken the law and done their time in jail to repay their debt to the society in which they have broken the law to begin with.

I have the opinion that rehabilitation is a word used for an over rated load of shit, there is no recovering from being addicted to anything, and there is certainly no rehabilitation for people who get put behind the walls of jails.

In fact they come out of institutionalised life far worse than before they went in.

We have no idea what actually happens to those who are put into jails and the likes of, as they are forced to succumb to the high achy of the system.

Often being degraded like dogs, as the alpha male or female of the pack sniffs their fresh meat before proving to the new members of this inside hell hole who the alpha leader is.

This in my mind is as bad if not worse than the crime that put them into the system to begin with and certainly is no means of retabulating a person who has broken any laws.

As for the good old 12 steps well my thoughts on them are simple, we are replacing a substance per say with a belief, which I only say belief because the majority of 12 step programmes involve god somehow saving us, after we admit to ourselves we had a problem with addiction in the first place.

Now being addicted to any given substance, does not mean that a person is going to instantly admit that there is any problem far from any need to enter into any 12 step programme, for those who do enter into the 12 step programmes, I wonder how many of you actually see this through to the 12th step let alone stay up there.

The success rate in rehabilitation here in Australia is 70%, leaving a huge gap of 30% who do not make it through the programme.

Makes me wonder if it is time to re-evaluate the 12 step thing overall.

As for those who make it to the 12th step and fall off for whatever life’s shitty reason may be, they are left feeling as though they have failed in some way shape or form, as they begin again with their tails between their legs.

In my mind the words recovered addicted or recovered offender are non-existent.

There is no such fucking thing, an addict is an addict even If they have detoxed from the substance they were initially addicted to or not, they are still addicted to the fucking thing, and an offender is simply still an offender regardless of how long he or she has spent in jails, living a life of fucking pure hell.

Society has just made up some word, to make it seem more acceptable.

We have pulled this god thing into the equation making it seem like forgiveness is impending once you believe.

What a load of shit!

We replace one thing to put in its place an unrealistic non sustainable un obtainable goal for mere humans to continue to fail at.

I somehow do not understand the point of it other than those who run these so call rehabilitation facilities lining their own pockets from people who have found themselves at the end of one of life’s dead end streets.

How on earth can this be right, let alone fucking humane? Oh that’s right, the majority of society have said its ok, therefore it must be right.

Majority rules, and norm are two of the next sickest things that we the human race have somehow allowed to take over how we think what we do, and how we treat others, with the need to belong that humans have so deeply imbedded into their way of thinking, and the want to fit into the group or pack we will stop at nothing to succeed in feeding the need to be a part of what is classed as socially acceptable.

Therefore generation after generation will continue to build their hopes on this bullshit rehabilitation that has found its own way into a system of conforming within society and people will continue to conduct studies on other humans and call it science, yet we will never be who or what we are supposed to be as we keep cutting away at what we are.

Sick and sad, we continue to strive towards the unrealistic goals we somehow set ourselves, yet forever knowing that we will never actually be whatever it is that we are trying to be.

Twisted little pack animals, we are carnivorous meat-eating beings that continue to use additives, preservatives, food colouring and more chemicals as we grow into nothing more than one oversized disorder.

The very disorders that we continue to try to understand to place chemical strait jackets on and continue to create, yet never owning what we do, never looking at how things are, and accepting that we are the cause rehabilitation is required within society.

We have caused there to be a need to place a name on the monsters that mankind itself has created, therefore the 12 step programme, and the likes of including the jail system is nothing more than a way of making our own selves feel as though we are still in some kind of control of a beast that is untameable.

About Angel O'Fire

New Zealand born, this kiwi chick took flight to live in the great land down under in Queensland Australia in 1988. I am clumsy at times not known for my tact and or grace, straight to the point, and somewhat impatient, I have come to accept that what is in this life simply is. Far from religious, I do not believe in a divine god per say that will come down and save the world, although I accept each to their own when it comes to their views and beliefs of what religion is or should be. I consider myself to be my own worst critic as I tend to strive for best, and have a tendency to push myself physically and emotionally beyond my limits. Still naive at times, still hoping to see the good rather than the bad in people, this has not been one of the qualities that I can say I am fond of, as it has come to burn me time after time over the years. I am a strong believer in Karma, as I do believe in what we put out is what we do get in return, good bad or indifferent. With a tendency to stand my ground when it comes to opinions, as we all have one, there is no right nor wrong, it is a perspective, a view point on how we view a subject. Zero tolerance for others who are self-riotous, I have no interest in people who claim to have never done any wrong in their lives, and who judge others, prior to walking in those they cast judgement upon’s shoes. I am just your average girl who is trying to make my way through life as it is. I am a mother, lover, friend, partner, co-worker, manager, coach, and referee, a Jill of all trades. A firm believer that ‘ignorance is not bliss’ nor is ‘ignorance’ and excuse to be an arsehole in the world we live in today, those who continue to use the ‘ignorance is bliss’ rule are plainly arrogant and uneducated. I love the water, beach surf and sand, the water is where I seem to find myself when I need to take 5 mins out of life's hectic cycle. I figure that each to their own, as it takes all kinds of people to make the world go round. I believe that life is not learnt out of a text book, and often wonder why we teach our lessons from one to our growing generations. Although I can be a surprising wealth of knowledge I find it amazing how a person can actually no so much about nothing, yet be a master of the topic. I am that girl who cuts her jeans into shorts because she got hot, am not one to enjoy shopping, in fact I hate the entire nightmare of going shopping and it has me fkd how so many chicks say 'lets make a day of it' and love bouncing from shop to shop looking at things that are well pointless. All in all that is me so hello world I'm Angel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rehab

  1. The Emu says:

    Pacing the floor many days in the corridors of ward 17 Heidelberg
    What did I do wrong, what should I have not remembered
    Deprogramming an innocent mind,no wonder I drink and think I’m an Emu, there coming to take me away har har hee to the funny farm where life is beautiful all the time, har har hehe ho ho
    Emu I think

Comments are closed.