land down under


There’s this nagging feeling I have right at this point in time, a quote from our former prime minister hon Kevin Rudd, who stated that in a country as prosperous as Australia nobody should be homeless.

Mr Rudd was correct in his quote, yet the government up to date has failed leading our country, failed on most of if not all of its promises to the Australian people and still there is the dark shadow of homelessness and hardship that I am at a loss for words to describe.

The recent disasters mother nature has poured onto our country have been the worst in over 20 years with millions of Australians left high and dry by insurance companies refusing to pay claims, people have lost their jobs, livelihoods and homes, people have lost their lives and experienced grief and trauma that will never heal.

Yet the nagging feeling I have weighing me down comes back to our former prime ministers quote that lingers in my thoughts, he was right even after the rains that flooded our land and continue to weigh our country down Australia is a prosperous country therefore we should not be seeing such in humane and needless suffering of over 105,000 people daily, we should not have our kids on the streets, as they fight for survival in this world because they simply can no longer live at home or continue to be moved from temporary accommodation in the foster care system several times in a 6 month period.

The government seem to have no answers only quotes and empty promises, as they continue to run this country that was once a place I was proud to be a part of into the mud that mother nature has formed, we are left to be sucked into the quick sand that has been created by people claiming to be our leaders yet they cannot lead themselves into a bloody agreement.

In Australia we have this unbelievable amount of government bodies and representatives, yet not one of these bodies nor representatives do a thing to stop the suffering, instead only days after the government had stated that there would be cuts made to the public services for budget reasons, the members of parliament receive a pay increase.

Now this in my eyes is not only hypocritical, considering peoples jobs are being axed left right and bloody centre, the jails are full to their maximum capacity and the big companies are leaving for dry ground, we have some billionaire moron riding on his golf cart carrying his fat arse around, claim that we should be flying the refugees who are swarming the shore lines by boat into an already overflowing country.

The government and all their so called wisdom seems to think that its ok once a year at marbo to apologise to the natives of the Australian soils for the stolen generation, yet they neglect to realise or acknowledge they are the ones who continue to steal generations up to date.

The government and their great child safety department is an utter nightmare to say the least.

Bringing me to the words of our former prime minister Mr Bob Hawke, who stated that ‘no child would live in poverty’, well Mr Hawke, as I am sure you have seen the government of today has failed your statement you made to us the Australian people as we have 44,500 kids who are homeless each night across our country.

In the words of former reporter and good old Aussie favourite Darren Hinch ‘shame shame, shame on you the government of Australia’.

As I shake my head in disbelief, I wonder what the hell can possibly happen next with so much uncertainty across our country, a government who are not only unstable, but a government who state they are a can do government yet can do nothing, we get to sit by on the sinking sidelines and watch as we literally become the great land down under.

About Angel O'Fire

New Zealand born, this kiwi chick took flight to live in the great land down under in Queensland Australia in 1988. I am clumsy at times not known for my tact and or grace, straight to the point, and somewhat impatient, I have come to accept that what is in this life simply is. Far from religious, I do not believe in a divine god per say that will come down and save the world, although I accept each to their own when it comes to their views and beliefs of what religion is or should be. I consider myself to be my own worst critic as I tend to strive for best, and have a tendency to push myself physically and emotionally beyond my limits. Still naive at times, still hoping to see the good rather than the bad in people, this has not been one of the qualities that I can say I am fond of, as it has come to burn me time after time over the years. I am a strong believer in Karma, as I do believe in what we put out is what we do get in return, good bad or indifferent. With a tendency to stand my ground when it comes to opinions, as we all have one, there is no right nor wrong, it is a perspective, a view point on how we view a subject. Zero tolerance for others who are self-riotous, I have no interest in people who claim to have never done any wrong in their lives, and who judge others, prior to walking in those they cast judgement upon’s shoes. I am just your average girl who is trying to make my way through life as it is. I am a mother, lover, friend, partner, co-worker, manager, coach, and referee, a Jill of all trades. A firm believer that ‘ignorance is not bliss’ nor is ‘ignorance’ and excuse to be an arsehole in the world we live in today, those who continue to use the ‘ignorance is bliss’ rule are plainly arrogant and uneducated. I love the water, beach surf and sand, the water is where I seem to find myself when I need to take 5 mins out of life's hectic cycle. I figure that each to their own, as it takes all kinds of people to make the world go round. I believe that life is not learnt out of a text book, and often wonder why we teach our lessons from one to our growing generations. Although I can be a surprising wealth of knowledge I find it amazing how a person can actually no so much about nothing, yet be a master of the topic. I am that girl who cuts her jeans into shorts because she got hot, am not one to enjoy shopping, in fact I hate the entire nightmare of going shopping and it has me fkd how so many chicks say 'lets make a day of it' and love bouncing from shop to shop looking at things that are well pointless. All in all that is me so hello world I'm Angel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to land down under

  1. The Emu says:

    All because some stupid nameless Labor morons took it upon themselves to put a bloody feather brained ex pom female in as our PM, ffs, we didnt even get a say in it,now at the next elections there is no way any right minded Australian should vote for Labor , if they offer a potential candidate for PM how the bloody hell do we know who the fucking turkey is working for , for the country or a nameless minority with personal ambitions, silly Gilly was never elected by the people which means our votes are bullshit , as no matter who we vote for it can be overidden by the party, we dont vote for individuals anymore, we have to vote for a circus of bloody morons, what idiot would vote for a stupid female that speaks to all Australians like an old English school maam,ie , this is good for you , we will have this,I promise to care for you, bullshit and more bullshit, Emu off for a beer, if I never had a drink problem before I certainly do now.
    Only good thing she has ever done for me is to drive me to drink
    Emu

  2. Angel O'Fire says:

    Emu, You have known me for a life time, and in that life time you have known that politics have really held no interest for me, however when the likes of what is and continues to go on in a faceless government where the only consistency is their constant in-house fighting and their utter lack of human respect, it seems to me that sadly the once prospourous land that K.Rudd spoke of is no longer prospourus and those who seem to suffer the most are those who always have, the battlers, as they battle each and every day just to get through.
    There is no changing this, this is the way it is, in a country that was once a home a land that we could be proud of sadly the leader, has lead us into the fast sinking quick sand that sucks us into it,
    A sad day when we realise that no matter how or who we vote for, our votes count for 100% of nothing,

  3. Scottie says:

    Hello Angel. I can’t address the issues in your country because I simply don’t know enough about your wonderful land. But the USA has the same issues. I don’t mind people being proud of where they come from, but being fanatical is wrong. I hear people talk as if the USA is the only country with a good idea, our way being the only way to do things….they say we are the richest country in the world, yet we have children going hungry and people who actually begrudge school lunch programs. For some of our kids the food they get at school is the only food they will get all day, yet some people want these programs ended. We also have homelessness, we have family’s living in cars, under bridges, Dang I see in my job people who are very ill who can’t afford to have even basic health care. This makes me so angry Angel…it is so wrong. I can not say we are so rich, so great if even one child goes hungry, has no hope, or a person asks for help and no one will give it. I don’t understand that part at all.

    One of the PT’s I took care of was discharged home this week. Still with some serious issues, but because he was very poor they did not want to keep him in the hospital and spend the money on him. He had no money or even shoes, and they were going to send him out. I worked with my bosses and got him a taxi home, then I called supply and got him some shoe type things that go over casts, I got some pins from some of the people in my unit and pinned the straps up making him a pair of shoes. I slipped him ten dollars for food as he was leaving . several of my co-workers were laughing at my efforts. I told them I would not be able to live with my self if I refused to help. That the money and effort were not a big deal to me, but a huge deal for that person. They couldn’t understand and felt I was foolish. All I can say is I slept better knowing I tried to help. Hugs

  4. dougl61 says:

    I read your article and thought how much of it was the same over here in the United States. Each day we see children and families starving, living on the streets, no way to pay for medical treatment. We also have the highest number of people in prison than any other country. Our government sits back and does nothing but fight between the two major politcal parties. Our government is being bought by the big businesses who only want to make themselves richer while making the poor people poorer. Soon there will be an uprising of the people in both countries as the people take them back.

Comments are closed.