Chickens, Ducks, Black snake and Us


Sometimes restart is all we need to get things back onto the smooth and semi normal road of life.

For the first time today I sat with my baby boy and we held a tiny chicken, this little bird, so fluffy and so helpless was so sturdy I was shocked at the resilience that this soon to be bbq’ed chook had in its tiny body.

I got bitten by a god damn duck and I had my arse kissed by a lamb, all whilst playing with baby animals down at the festival.

Sitting on the side of the road watching the cars do their glory lap, proud owners and their wives as they drove down this normally deserted street, each wife waving out the passengers window like the queen yet somehow you knew from being that female, that all those hours that he had spent polishing, washing, spending time with on this lump of metal, all those meals he was late coming into, and the arguments that the couple had lived through whilst his car took first priority as he polished and rubbed it more than he had ever rubbed and polished his wife, today both these women in his life would shine.

From Holden’s, fords, mustangs and hot rods, there in all their chrome glory their polished shine with their proud driver behind their wheel and the wife waving out like royalty could do nothing but bring a smile, even to the sourest lemons face.

Then came the familiar site of the yellow tractor that lives next door, with the man who is a true blue, fair dinkum aussie bloke, proudly waving out to us, as it hits me that here is my family watching this festival for the first year, as I see the heritage the history in the making that this town holds for us, literally.

As we waved to old Smokey and his tractor, I smiled as I realised this may not of been the idea of what I had when I wanted to go home, but somehow it wasn’t up to me where home was waiting for me, yet as it turns out home, is the small town with a handful of people, a blue police station and like all country towns the highlight of this town is the heritage hotel.

With the tiny post office with the postmaster who knows everybody in this place, and the postal delivery driver who rides her scooter right up to your window to deliver your mail as your heading out your drive way, I realised that finally, I have found my way home, how? Well that would be one of life’s mysteries.

I never would have imagined that I would be a country girl yet somehow the country suits this girl, and she is happy with the country, she actually enjoys pottering around the garden regardless of the odd snake or ten and out of nowhere she see’s things clearly for the first time since fucks me when.

No major traffic to piss you off, no stupid people in stupid shopping centres who are rude as they push and shove just a dottery old quack who’s the doctor, the chemist that is not open 7 days a week as I had become somewhat accustom to however that is a small sacrifice to finally find some form of peace within myself again peace within my family.

Who can go wrong with me my eagle and our boy in the middle of mother earth herself?

Black Snake Festival 2012

About Angel O'Fire

New Zealand born, this kiwi chick took flight to live in the great land down under in Queensland Australia in 1988. I am clumsy at times not known for my tact and or grace, straight to the point, and somewhat impatient, I have come to accept that what is in this life simply is. Far from religious, I do not believe in a divine god per say that will come down and save the world, although I accept each to their own when it comes to their views and beliefs of what religion is or should be. I consider myself to be my own worst critic as I tend to strive for best, and have a tendency to push myself physically and emotionally beyond my limits. Still naive at times, still hoping to see the good rather than the bad in people, this has not been one of the qualities that I can say I am fond of, as it has come to burn me time after time over the years. I am a strong believer in Karma, as I do believe in what we put out is what we do get in return, good bad or indifferent. With a tendency to stand my ground when it comes to opinions, as we all have one, there is no right nor wrong, it is a perspective, a view point on how we view a subject. Zero tolerance for others who are self-riotous, I have no interest in people who claim to have never done any wrong in their lives, and who judge others, prior to walking in those they cast judgement upon’s shoes. I am just your average girl who is trying to make my way through life as it is. I am a mother, lover, friend, partner, co-worker, manager, coach, and referee, a Jill of all trades. A firm believer that ‘ignorance is not bliss’ nor is ‘ignorance’ and excuse to be an arsehole in the world we live in today, those who continue to use the ‘ignorance is bliss’ rule are plainly arrogant and uneducated. I love the water, beach surf and sand, the water is where I seem to find myself when I need to take 5 mins out of life's hectic cycle. I figure that each to their own, as it takes all kinds of people to make the world go round. I believe that life is not learnt out of a text book, and often wonder why we teach our lessons from one to our growing generations. Although I can be a surprising wealth of knowledge I find it amazing how a person can actually no so much about nothing, yet be a master of the topic. I am that girl who cuts her jeans into shorts because she got hot, am not one to enjoy shopping, in fact I hate the entire nightmare of going shopping and it has me fkd how so many chicks say 'lets make a day of it' and love bouncing from shop to shop looking at things that are well pointless. All in all that is me so hello world I'm Angel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chickens, Ducks, Black snake and Us

  1. The Emu says:

    Well done girl, great pics too
    Emu

  2. Eagle Wings says:

    Wouldn’t Have it any other way . baby . When you feel content , I’m content .
    This has to be the first place we all go shopping or just for a walk , regularly .

    The normally slow pace here gives us more time to concentrate on us ,
    Love you
    your eagle

  3. Scottie says:

    I love the pictures…and I also loved being a country boy…but my life has moved me to cities, and as long as I had Ron, no matter how scared I was or how I did not understand the pace I was happy. Now with our son we are still happy, but not settled. We may move, to another city, or to the country again to slowly wind down…but full of life and love….Just as I know you are. I can not picture you being any other way , you are always full of life, love, and living. many hugs and my strongest loves. you and yours are an inspiration in make life from that which would destroy us.

Comments are closed.